May 15, 2008

Lessons From Kindergarten

Posted in Life tagged , at 9:25 pm by Lindsay

In the play “All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten”, based off the book by Robert Fulghum, there’s a scene where a teacher is asking a group of kids a series of questions.  When the teacher asks, “Who here can draw well?” the entire class emphatically raises their hands shouting “I can!” and “I’m a great artist!”  The children give the same response when the teacher asks “Who is good at sports?” and “Who here can sing really well?”  Then the kids disappear and are replaced with a classroom full of college kids.  When asked the same set of questions, only one or two raise their hands.  The others respond with statements like “That’s not my major” and “I’ve never taken lessons or anything”. 

 

For me, this scene illustrates a really interesting point about a difference in attitudes at different ages.  Obviously, as we grow older we develop a keener sense of our own talents when compared to others.  No, not everyone in the world can sing “well” or draw “well”.  But why should that stop our enthusiasm?

 

I’ve overheard people being recruited for the church choir say that they’re not a good enough singer to join the choir while expressing an enjoyment of singing.  Who cares if you’re not Renee Fleming??  If you have fun singing, sing!  Same thing with friends wanting to join the intramural leagues in college.  Gee, I really like to play basketball, but I’m not good enough to join a team, they say.  Who cares if you can’t make a three-pointer??  If you have fun playing basketball, play basketball!!

 

I think it’s tragic that when we age, we let our perception of standards inhibit us from enjoying things that we’re not especially talented at.  Think of all the fun we’re missing out on.  Think of all the experiences we’re missing out on.  Sometimes we lose sight of the fact that life isn’t always about being good or being the best, sometimes it’s just about enjoying ourselves.     

1 Comment »

  1. Daniel Lai said,

    I was having a beer at the local watering hole when I noticed an older man walking up to the dance floor. You could tell all us younger folks started throwing glances “Oh, here we go”, “I can’t believe he’s that drunk already”, “what a creep”. He started grooving to the music and he was an absolute horrible dancer.

    The thing was he was lovin’ every second of it. All smiles – it was great. Eventually everyone in the bar started opening up to it. He was setting the mood. Next thing you know it we’re all on our feet doing our choice dance moves; the lawnmower, the sprinkler, the “happy” shopper, you name it. I had a blast and I don’t even dance.

    So there you go. An old man showing us young millennials that it’s ok to lossen up every once in awhile. Enjoy life even if you’re not a dancer.

    The book sounds interesting I might just go pick it up.


Leave a Reply

