April 22, 2008

In a World with Google – No Excuse

Posted in Careers, Uncategorized tagged , , at 8:13 pm by Katelyn

Read With The Lobsters! – Every weekend, Katelyn and Lindsay discuss the book Never Eat Alone by Keith Ferrazzi in an effort to sharpen networking skills.

Never Eat Alone was really my saving grace last week. In an effort to put into practice what I’ve been learning from Ferrazzi, I scheduled a lunch with someone my former boss recommended I meet. I received his contact information from my boss and knew nothing about him other than that he had also interned for her some 10 years earlier. The night before we were scheduled to have lunch, I opened Never Eat Alone to read the next chapter titled “Do Your Homework.” Coincidence? I think not. The opening quote sums it up:

“Spectacular achievement is always preceded by spectacular preparation” – Robert H. Schuler (p. 67)

Ferrazzi continued on to contradict my entire thought process on researching someone. Normally I would assume you would research future acquaintances to have the upper hand, the inside scoop, the dirt, but Ferrazzi learns personal details so he can uncover a similarity that might exist. Similarities lead to interesting conversation which can lead to genuine connections and friendships, which is what we are learning networking is all about. Besides, he is also correct in that people are flattered when you show you’ve taken the time to do your homework on them.

Needless to say, I immediately googled and researched as much as I could about my lunch partner for the following day. It turned out that we had a lot more in common than a previous boss and our lunch was so much fun as a result!

2 Comments »

  1. That’s great that you got a chance to put his advice into motion! I bet knowing some information on your lunch partner’s background made it easier to bypass the awkward small talk that is usually present when meeting someone for the first time and jump into topics like shared interests where discussion is easier and more earnest. Good post!

  2. It does pay to do your homework, as they say. I really like the Schuler quote, and I think it extends far beyond preparing for a meeting. If we’re prepared for the small events, like a meeting, we will be much more likely to be prepared for the larger events. Sometimes we can even put some effort into preparing ourselves for life.


Leave a Reply

