March 6, 2008

Honoring Hen: Marin Alsop

Posted in music, Music Industry, Uncategorized tagged , , , at 10:01 pm by Katelyn

The name Marin Alsop probably doesn’t sound familiar to most people. Even I only knew her story and not her name. She is the woman who broke the glass baton so to speak.

Alsop is the Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and the first woman to ever lead a major American Symphony. In the world of classical music, where men still dominate the scene, she has broken through.

I won’t bore you with biographical details because she has so much of her life still to live. I will instead leave you with several of her quotes that I think speak to her character and the opportunity she has earned.

“I think the most challenging aspect is people’s need to focus on the fact that I’m a woman. It’s really entirely irrelevant to what I do.”

“I don’t want to give it short shrift. I want to take this responsibility of being a role model, in a certain way, and try to capitalize on it and make it easier for future generations and really make a contribution because of this circumstance I find myself in.”

“In some ways, it’s really a shame that it can be the 21st century and there can still be firsts for women. That’s disappointing. But at the same time, I’m proud. I want to try to use this opportunity to pull a spotlight onto the fact that there can still be firsts for women and we need to work harder to make those part of history, rather than part of the present.”

(quotes taken from CNN article: http://www.cnn.com/2007/SHOWBIZ/Music/09/23/alsop.baltimore/index.html)

Leave a Reply

