February 25, 2008

Isn’t it Common Courtesy?

Posted in Life tagged , , , at 7:59 pm by Katelyn

Not too long before my recent move, I had a conversation with a friend (also a transplant) about the difficulty of making friends in a new city. Both of us were able to list specific instances where an acquaintance told us of their upcoming social plans with other friends and yet didn’t follow them with a “would you like to join us?”.

Now that I am in another new city, I find myself again in the situation of needing/wanting to make new friends. Twice already since I moved here just a month ago, I have experienced the leave-me-hanging, don’t-bother-to-invite-me-along scenario.

I thought that unless you really disliked someone, it was common courtesy to extend the invitation to join in on your social plans if it was a group thing . At least that is what I would do, and I think I would be even more inclined to do so knowing that the person was brand new to the area.

I’m a bit confused by all of this. Am I not as friendly as I think I am? Am I not showing enough interest in making friends or having a social life? Or am I intimidating in some way because I am new?

Have you seen this at all in your moves? I’m curious to know if it’s just me who is experiencing this phenomenon.

Leave a Reply

