January 14, 2008

You Hear It… Worst

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 7:29 pm by Lindsay

Okay, I’m fed up.  Insulted even.

I don’t have television at home.  I have a tv for watching movies on, but my roommates and I have chosen not to pay for cable.  We figure, we live in Los Angeles- there are plenty of things we could do besides watch tv and we’ll save a little in the process.  However, I’ve been housesitting for the last week or so and as a result have been able to watch some tv.  A few mintues ago, I caught the local news’ teaser where they briefly list the stories they’ll be covering that night.  What was the lead story you might ask?  Nothing less than the latest chapter in the Britney Spears/Kevin Federline custody battle.  ON THE EVENING NEWS. 

I could go into a long rant about the implications of our eroding mass media channels, but I’ll spare you, because chances are,  you feel the same way.  But in what universe is that considered appropriate for the evening news????  During the last week, I’ve run into countless examples of this– on the Today Show, on every local news report, and on the cable news channels.  I don’t understand how this has become acceptable.  When websites like TMZ and Perez Hilton are abundant, why are celebrity stories taking up valuable space on the “serious” news reports?

More importantly, what are we going to do about it?  My short term solution is to be more selective when choosing my news source.  Below are some of the sources that I’ve found to be a little more constructive and informative.

Slate Magazine: www.slate.com  My first web stop of the day.  I think they do a good job of posting quality stories versus a pure quantity of stories. 

National Public Radio: www.npr.org  Solid news in three mediums: listen on the radio, stream programming online, or read the articles on the website.

Where do you get your news?  Any sources you’d recommend?  Feedback please!

 ~LA

3 Comments »

  1. Pullman said,

    I agree that the media is way overfocused on celebrities. Just today I found this article in the NY Times about how AP is increasing their number of media reporters.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/14/business/media/14apee.html?_r=1&ref=media&oref=slogin

    I’ve even found that CNN.com includes celebrity news in their breaking stories column. Really? Celebrity babies are breaking news?

    I tend to get the majority of my news from Slate, the NY Times, and local news from the campus newspaper. From these I can generally avoid the obsession over celebrities and learn about issues that actually matter.

  2. DC said,

    Amen to this post!!!!

    I used to really enjoy watching the Today show, and maybe it’s because I have a later work start time that I catch the pop culture reports as opposed to the real news, but either way it is nauseating.

    I am a big supporter of the NY Times (online). I get all my news from there and it’s a truly great site.
    ~DC

  3. pakipics said,

    Changing time is leading to fast access to media and TV Channels http://www.jazib.com is a website giving access to more than 2700 TV channels online which you can watch freely.

    Do visit http://www.jazib.com to watch TV Channlels across 100 Countries.


Leave a Reply

