November 21, 2007

Outrage!

Posted in Politics tagged , , at 8:37 pm by Lindsay

Is anyone else as outraged as I am about the “beat the bitch” question a McCain supporter asked him???  To me that signals a total lack of respect and a cheap shot at the first credible female presidential candidate.  To me, it’s just as bad as asking how we “beat the (insert derogatory racial label here)” when referring to Obama and Richardson.  And to top it off, it infuriates me that the speaker was a woman.  Has she no self-respect???  Am I overreacting? 

5 Comments »

  1. DC said,

    I guess I have been out of the loop with all my travels for the Thanksgiving holiday. Can you fill me in on what happened and what the actual question was? Sounds crazy!

  2. dovertocalais said,

    No problem. McCain was fielding questions from supporters when a woman in the crowd asked “how do we beat the bitch?” meaning Hillary. Everyone in the room laughed, and McCain went on to answer her question. McCain himself did not use the word, but he appeared to be amused. I chose to blog about it because I felt that it had kind of slipped by in the media, so I’m not surprised you hadn’t heard about it. Maybe it’s a good thing that it hasn’t been given much coverage– it was such a cheap shot that it’s undeserving of any real attention. On the other hand, I’d hate to think that comments like this could be easily gotten away with and forgotten about.

    When Joe Biden made those controversial remarks about Obama being a clean African-American candidate, I think it got a lot more press coverage. Maybe that’s a different situation. At the end of the day, I just don’t want it to get to the point where no one’s upset when people are using inappropriate terms for any group of people, whether it be women, minorities, etc.

    Here’s the YouTube link if you want to watch the McCain video:

    If that doesn’t work, just search for “beat the bitch” on YouTube and it’ll come up.

  3. DC said,

    McCain actually says, “That’s an excellent question.” I am amazed!
    I think you are completely right in thinking that if this had been a question using a racial slur, the media would have been all over it. This word has become too common in our language and this woman obviously thought it appropriate and humorous. It’s fine and great if you want to talk strategies for beating the lead candidate, but do it with respect and with class. I think that’s all anyone should ask for – woman, african american, mormon, or other. When did we lose respect? (probably when the under-dog started winning)

  4. Pullman said,

    I agree. I’ve heard commenting on it saying it’s not so bad because it was a woman said it. But if a man had said it, then it would be inappropriate. I completely and strongly disagree with that. Also, I am disappointed in McCain for not saying disagreeing with the woman or asking her not to refer to Hillary like that. I don’t always agree with him on politics but I have thought of him as one of the more respectful politicians.

  5. Pullman said,

    *that should have been: “for not saying he disagreed with the woman”


Leave a Reply

